Usman Khawaja, Travis Head to lead Australia A in South Africa

first_imgTop-order batsman Usman Khawaja will lead the 14-member Australian A squad for the two four-day matches against South Africa A, beginning July 12 at Tukkies in Pretoria.Meanwhile, all-rounder Glenn Maxwell has been named as the vice-captain of the four-day squad.Describing Khawaja as a ‘proven’ leader, national selector Trevor Hohns said the former had captained Australia A before and, therefore, they hopes the left-handed batsman would response well to the extra responsibility.”Khawaja is a proven leader and has captained Australia A before, he will gel nicely with Glenn who recently had some captaincy experience in the IPL and we believe will respond well to this extra responsibility,” Hohns said.Talking about the overall squad, the national selector said they have opted for a blend of experienced and young players, while adding that the upcoming tour would give the players with opportunity to experience foreign conditions.”We have opted for a well-balanced squad featuring some experience blended with younger players, with an emphasis on building our depth for the future,” Hohns said.”This is a great chance for these players to experience foreign conditions against quality international sides and really test their skills,” he added.Meanwhile, the Australian selectors have also named the one-day squad for tri-series featuring South Africa A and India A.South Australian batsman Travis Head will lead the one-day side during the tour.Reflecting on his selection, Hohns said that Travis is a capable young leader and that he would benefit from the opportunity at this level.advertisement”There were some senior players that missed out on an opportunity this time round but this will certainly not detract from their chances of representing Australia in the future,” he added.Australia A four-day squad:Usman Khawaja (captain), Glenn Maxwell (vice-captain), Ashton Agar, Cameron Bancroft, Jason Behrendorff, Jackson Bird, Alex, Carey, Hilton Cartwright, Travis Head, Kurtis Patterson, Chadd Sayers, Mitchell Swepson, Chris Tremain, Jack WildermuthAustralia A one-day squad:Travis Head (captain), Ashton Agar, Jason Behrendorff, Scott Boland, Alex Carey, Hilton Cartwright, Sam Heazlett, Moises Henriques, Daniel Hughes, Kane Richardson, Marcus Stoinis, Mitchell Swepson, Chris Tremain, Jack Wildermuth.last_img read more